Databases

Resources Available to You From Your Library

 

MnKnows is a portal to Minnesota's online library services, welcoming you to use and explore the various electronic resources listed below. Minnesota's libraries cooperate to connect Minnesotans with the world of information, the content of their collections, and the expertise of their staff members.

MnLINK : Link to home page


View the online catalogs from over 20 Minnesota library systems and request materials. Please note that MnLink should ONLY be used after making sure the material you are requesting is not in the library catalog. If the item is in the library catalog MnLink can not be used to request the item.

AskMN is an instant chat service that allows you to communicate with an experienced librarian anytime, day or night, seven days a week. Within minutes, a professional can respond to your question, linking you to reliable information and resources.

The Pennington County Historical Society (PCHS)

This site contains over 3100 photographs, digitally scanned and available online, plus nearly 20,000 cemetery records and over 115,000 obituary records.


Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains comprehensive content for all patrons. Whether it’s frogs or physics, gardening or geography

Patrons outside of the library click here

   

Britannica Online Kids Edition    Student Center, News, Animal of the Day, and more.

Minnesota Reflections is an online collection of more than 32,000 photographs, maps, journals, and documents. You can search and view these unique resources from Minnesota's past.

ELM Logo: Link to Home Page


Search ELM for magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, e-Books, and information from reference sources.

—Mostly full text
—Includes Consumer Reports, Parenting, Sports Illustrated, Time, Newsweek, People, and thousands of other titles.

ELM Tutorial

 

ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).

Start searching Kid's Edition - K12 (K12K)


Easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.  Elementary School Students.

Start searching Kids InfoBits (ITKE)
Kids InfoBits


Current events, arts, science, health, people, government, history, and sports.
Kindergarten – grade 5

Start searching Student Edition - K12 (K12S)


Access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.  High School Students.


Full text of over 14,000 electronic books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers and more. Includes Cliff's Notes.

ProQuest Information and Learning


Newspaper articles and abstracts from 300+ newspapers including the Star Tribune, Wall Street Journal, USA Today and many others

Remote location access here

OCLC WorldCat


Union catalog of materials cataloged by libraries around the world.

 * due to lack of interest Heritage Quest and Ancestory Databases have been discontinued.